DUI Checkpoint Locations / DUI Checkpoint Alerts / DWI Checkpoint Alert. Local Police are setting up DUI Checkpoints!
Alerts - Locations
DUI Checkpoint Location Alerts employ the deterrent effect and promot public safety.
Login  

Local DUI Checkpoints
Text Message & Email Location Alerts

DUI Laws / DWI Laws / OVI Laws / BAC Limits
State by State

Join thousands of other satisfied customers and get your
No Risk One Month Free Trial
Local DUI Checkpoints via Text & Email.
Signup for DUI Checkpoint Alerts
    Free Trial
  Free Trial Free Trial

Did you know...
Before the .08 BAC laws, states had BAC limits from .10 to .15 as the standard for impaired driving.  (Next)
DUI Checkpoints - Did you know? DUI Checkpoint FAQ

Click here for an article on the History and Legality of DUI Checkpoints.


All 50 states and the District of Columbia have laws defining it as a crime to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above a set level, 0.08 percent.

License suspension or revocation is a high possibility if you are convicted of a DUI.  Under a procedure called administrative license suspension, licenses are taken before conviction when a driver fails or refuses to take a chemical test.

Because suspension laws are independent of criminal procedures and are invoked right after arrest, they've been found to be more effective than traditional post-conviction sanctions. Administrative license suspension laws are in place in 41 states and the District of Columbia.

Some offenders in 46 states and the District of Columbia are permitted to drive only if their vehicles have been equipped with ignition interlocks.  These devices analyze a driver's breath and disable the ignition if the driver has been drinking.

In 32 states, multiple offenders may have to forfeit their vehicles.

Laws prohibiting the driver, passengers, or both from possessing an open container of alcohol in the passenger compartment of a vehicle are in place in 43 states and the District of Columbia.
 

State BAC License
suspension
Driving
Permit
Vehicle
forfeiture
Open
container

Alabama

0.08   90 days   no no driver/passenger

Alaska

0.08 90 days after 30 days1 yes driver

Arizona

0.08 90 days after 30 days1 yes driver/passenger

Arkansas

0.08 120 days yes1 yes ctl4no

California

0.08 4 months after 30 days1 yes driver/passenger

Colorado

0.08 3 months yes1 no driver/passenger

Connecticut

0.08 90 days yes1 no no

Delaware

0.08 3 months no no no

DC

0.08 2-90 days yes1 no driver/passenger

Florida

0.08 6 months after 30 days1 yes driver/passenger

Georgia

0.08 1 year yes1 yes driver/passenger

Hawaii

0.08 3 months after 30 days1 no driver/passenger

Idaho

0.08 90 days after 30 days1 no driver/passenger

Illinois

0.08 3 months after 30 days1 yes driver/passenger

Indiana

0.08 180 days after 30 days1 yes driver/passenger

Iowa

0.08 180 days after 90 days1 no driver/passenger

Kansas

0.08 30 days no no driver

Kentucky

0.08 8no not applicable yes driver/passenger

Louisiana

0.08 90 days after 30 days1 yes driver/passenger

Maine

0.08 90 days yes1 yes driver/passenger

Maryland

0.08 45 days yes1 no driver/passenger

Massachusetts

0.08 90 days no yes driver/passenger

Michigan

0.082 no not applicable yes driver/passenger

Minnesota

0.08 90 days after 15 days1 yes driver/passenger

Mississippi

0.08 90 days no yes no

Missouri

0.08 30 days no yes no

Montana

0.08 no not applicable yes driver/passenger

Nebraska

0.08 90 days after 30 days1 no driver/passenger

Nevada

0.08 90 days after 45 days1 no driver/passenger

New Hampshire

0.08 6 months no no driver/passenger

New Jersey

0.08 no not applicable no driver/passenger

New Mexico

0.08 90 days after 30 days1 no driver/passenger

New York

0.08 variable3 yes1 yes driver/passenger

North Carolina

0.08 30 days after 10 days1 yes driver/passenger

North Dakota

0.08 91 days after 30 days1 yes driver/passenger

Ohio

0.08 90 days after 15 days1 yes driver/passenger

Oklahoma

0.08 180 days yes1 yes driver

Oregon

0.08 90 days after 30 days1 yes driver/passenger

Pennsylvania

0.08 no not applicable yes driver/passenger

Rhode Island

0.08 no not applicable yes driver

South Carolina

0.08 no not applicable yes driver/passenger

South Dakota

0.08 no not applicable no driver/passenger

Tennessee

0.08 no not applicable yes driver4

Texas

0.08 90 days yes1 yes driver/passenger

Utah

0.08 90 days no no driver/passenger

Vermont

0.08 90 days no yes driver/passenger

Virginia

0.08 7 days no yes no

Washington

0.08 90 days after 30 days1 yes driver/passenger

West Virginia

0.08 6 months after 30 days 1 no no

Wisconsin

0.08 6 months yes1 yes driver/passenger

Wyoming

0.08 90 days yes1 no driver/passenger

1
Drivers usually must demonstrate special hardship to justify restoring privileges during suspension, and then privileges often are restricted. 

2 The 0.08 per se BAC law in Michigan contains a sunset clause which states that the legal BAC will revert to 0.10 on October 1, 2013. 

3 In New York, administrative license suspension lasts until prosecution is complete. 

4 In Tennessee, municipalities and counties can prohibit passengers from possessing an open container.

Most Popular
Checkpoint Locations

Los Angeles
Riverside
San Diego
San Bernardino
Orange County

California
Florida
Ohio

Local Taxi Directory - Taxicabs


Local DUI Attorney Directory

Terms of ServiceCopyright © 2008-2017 AlertMedia, Inc. All Rights Reserved.Privacy Policy

The information on this website is for general information purposes only.
Nothing on this website or associated pages, emails, texts or other communications should be taken as legal advice.